This year Olive Oil Times featured profiles of olive oil makers in every region, told stories which documented the work of profoundly dedicated people and drew attention to many of the world’s best olive oils.  Now we have recognized the olive oil producers in each region who have become leaders in their field.

The Olive Oil Times Producer of the Year award.

2010-olive-oil-times-producer-of-the-yearEach year, Olive Oil Times commends the achievements of olive oil producers who make an outstanding contribution to the industry. These individuals or companies set the standards of excellence for the rest of the industry to follow and influence the quality, variety, value, and educational information available to olive oil consumers.

Often these leaders have overcome formidable and enduring challenges, or through innovation found new ways to advance olive oil quality in a product range, in their community or throughout the world.

With an eye to the past we recognize the olive oil maker who has managed to preserve or promulgate olive oil’s cultural legacy.  Looking to the future, the award honors the producer who works to ensure the place of olive oil in our lives and those of generations to come.

The award may be bestowed upon an entire organization or a particular olive oil maker. This recognizes the fact that producing olive oil can be both a collaborative endeavor involving many hands and an individual expression of personal creativity.

One winner was chosen this year from each of these regions:  Africa, European Union, Oceania, South America and North America.

Of course we didn’t do it alone.  It was a big job and we needed your help.  We received hundreds of nominations from readers using the online form during the 60-day period that ended November 1st.

Submissions were verified and evaluated by Olive Oil Times editors, contributors, and consulting experts throughout the world.  The winners were announced in late December.

2010 Olive Oil Times Producer of the Year Winners:

North America:   Deborah Rogers
South America:   Olisur
Africa/Middle East:   The Aqallal Family, Atlas Olive Oils
Oceania:   Boundary Bend
Europe:   Blas Melgarejo Cordero and Andrés Martos Medina

More articles on: , ,